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INTRODUCTION 
 
The Minnesota Supreme Court governs admissions to the bar and the practice of 
law in Minnesota pursuant to Article VI of the Minnesota Constitution and 
Minnesota Statutes Chapter 481. The Minnesota Supreme Court appoints the 
Board of Law Examiners (Board), which is comprised of nine (9) members, seven 
(7) of whom are lawyers and two (2) of whom are lay persons. The Board is 
responsible for ensuring that those admitted to the bar in Minnesota have the 
necessary competence and character to practice law safely. The Board is 
governed by the Rules for Admission to the Bar (Rules). The Rules are available 
online at https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules or in the Minnesota Statutes in the 
Minnesota Rules of Court volume. 
 
The following are some frequently asked questions about the admissions 
process in Minnesota and about the Minnesota Bar Examination: 
 
1. What are the prerequisites for admission to the practice of law in 

Minnesota? 
 
Applicants to the Bar in Minnesota must meet the following requirements: 
 

• be at least 18 years of age; 
• have good character and fitness demonstrated by the satisfactory 

completion of a background investigation; 
• have met the legal education requirements described below; 
• have a satisfactory score on the Multistate Professional Responsibility 

Examination (MPRE), unless applying for a house counsel license under 
Rules 8, 9 or 10;  

• achieve a satisfactory score on a Minnesota Bar Examination, or be 
eligible for admission without examination by one of the following means: 
(i) years of practice, (ii) transfer of an Multistate Bar Examination (MBE) 
score achieved in another jurisdiction; (iii) transfer of a Uniform Bar 
Examination score (UBE) from another jurisdiction.  

 
2. What are the educational requirements for admission?  
 
If an applicant has either a J.D. or LL.B. from a law school that is provisionally or 
fully approved by the American Bar Association (ABA), the applicant meets the 
educational requirements for admission. 
 
If an applicant is not a graduate of an ABA approved law school, the applicant 
must meet all of the following additional requirements:     

• have a J.D. degree from a law school located in the U.S; 
• have a bachelor’s degree from an undergraduate institution that is 

accredited by an agency recognized by the U.S. Dept. of Education;  

https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules
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• provide documentary evidence that the applicant has been engaged, as a 
principal occupation, in the practice of law for 60 of the previous 84 
months, in one or more of the activities listed in Rule 7A(1)(c); and  
achieve a passing score on the Minnesota Bar Examination.  

 
3. How does one begin an Application to the Minnesota Bar? 
 
Persons who want to be admitted to the Bar in Minnesota must do the following:  
 

• Complete the Registration Form using the Board’s online applicant portal 
at https://portal.ble.mn.gov  

• Complete the Application for Admission to the Bar found at 
https://www.ble.mn.gov/how-to-apply/  

• Print out, sign, and have notarized the Registration Form and Application 
for Admission 

• Print out, sign, and have notarized the Authorization and Release form 
consenting to the Board’s investigation including seeking information from 
3rd parties 

• Obtain two affidavits from persons who have known the applicant for at 
least 1 year who can attest to the applicant’s good character and fitness to 
practice law 

• Submit a photo ID is applying to sit for the bar examination 
• Submit all of the above in hard copy to the Board office along with a fee in 

the amount prescribed by Rule 12 of the Rules for Admission to the Bar.  
 
4. What questions are asked on the Bar Application? 
 
The bar application asks for comprehensive information about the applicant’s 
education, places of residence, employment history, admission in other 
jurisdictions, names and addresses of references, and other information 
necessary for the background investigation. Another brochure published by the 
Board, entitled Character and Fitness for Admission to the Bar addresses the 
scope of the investigation. 
 
5. When must the Application for Admission by Examination be filed? 
 
Applicants for admission by bar examination must submit a completed 
application along with the required attachments and fee on or before the 
published examination application deadline. Late fees are charged in accordance 
with the timelines set forth in Rule 12 of the Rules for Admission to the Bar.  
 
6. What is the educational requirement for admission in Minnesota? 
 
Anyone who has a J.D. or LL.B degree from an ABA approved law school meets 
the educational requirements for admission in Minnesota. In addition, graduates 

https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#7
https://portal.ble.mn.gov/
https://www.ble.mn.gov/how-to-apply/
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#12
https://www.ble.mn.gov/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Character-and-Fitness-for-Admission-to-the-Bar.pdf
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#12
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of non-ABA approved law schools can be admitted under certain circumstances. 
See #9 and #10 below for additional information.  
 
7. What proof do I need of graduation from law school? 
 
Because a law student may submit a bar application before graduation, 
applicants must authorize their law school to send a Certificate of Graduation 
(Conferral of Degree) 30 or more days prior to the examination. If authorized, 
Minnesota law schools will send the Certificate of Graduation directly to the 
Board office. Out-of-state law school graduates must ask their law school to send 
in a Certificate of Graduation to the Board. Whether from an in-state or out-of-
state law school, the certificate must state either that the applicant has graduated 
or that the Applicant has fulfilled all requirements for graduation and will be 
graduated within 120 days following the date of the bar examination. Applicants 
who have not yet graduated at the time of application must submit a certified law 
school transcript showing the date of graduation before the Applicant can be 
admitted. 
 
8. What does a Certificate of Graduation (Conferral of Degree) need to 

say? 
 
An applicant requesting admission to the Minnesota bar must request his/her law 
school to send a letter to the Board stating that the law school has conferred a 
J.D. or LL.B degree for the Applicant and the date on which the degree was 
awarded. The letter must be an original document, signed by the Dean or 
registrar or other authorized person, and received at the Board office at least 30 
days prior to the exam. See Rule 4C. 
 
9. Do graduates of non-ABA approved law schools have additional 

requirements?  
 
As stated in Rule 4A(3)(b)(iv), graduates of non-ABA approved law schools have 
additional requirements to be admitted in Minnesota: a) they must prove that they 
have been licensed in another U.S. state or territory and have practiced law for 
60 of the 84 months immediately preceding the submission of the application and 
the practice must have been in one or more of the activities listed in Rule 
7A(1)(c), and b) they must take and pass the Minnesota bar examination. In 
addition, prior to authorizing a non-ABA graduate to sit for the Minnesota bar 
examination, the Board will review and make a determination as to whether the 
Applicant’s practice meets the requirements of the rules.  
 
10. When should a non-ABA law school graduate apply?  
 
Graduates of non-ABA approved law schools are strongly urged to apply six or 
more months prior to the bar examination for which they intend to sit. This will 
afford the Board an opportunity to review and make a determination as to 

https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#4
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#4
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#7
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#7
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whether the Applicant’s practice meets the requirements of the Board’s rules. 
See question #9 above. 
 
11. How do applicants who have practiced law in another state qualify 

for Admission Without Examination? 
 
An Applicant who is a graduate of an ABA-approved law school who seeks 
admission in Minnesota must have engaged in the licensed practice of law as a 
principal occupation in another U.S. state or territory for at least 60 of the 84 
months immediately preceding the application in an activity qualifying under Rule 
7A(1)(c). Lawyers who meet the 60 month requirement may be admitted without 
examination. More information can be found in Rule 7A.  
 
Graduates of non-ABA approved law schools are not eligible for admission by 
motion under any of the provisions of Rule 7, but may be eligible under Rule 6 if 
the Applicant meets the requirements of Rule 4A(3)(b). 
 
12. How does one qualify for Admission Without Examination on the 

basis of a transferred MBE score?  
 
An Applicant who has achieved a scaled score of 145 or higher on the Multistate 
Bar Examination (MBE) taken in another state or jurisdiction may be admitted in 
Minnesota without examination. A completed application must be submitted 
within two (2) years of the date the Applicant sat for the qualifying examination. 
The bar examination must have included an essay portion, the Applicant must 
have been successful on the entire examination, and the Applicant must have 
been licensed in the state or jurisdiction in which the MBE was taken. More 
information can be found in Rule 7B. Graduates of non-ABA approved law 
schools are not eligible for admission under Rule 7B. 
 
13. Is Minnesota a Uniform Bar Examination (UBE) state? What is the 

UBE? 
 

Minnesota is a Uniform Bar Examination state. The UBE is comprised of 6 
Multistate Essay Exam (MEE) questions, 2 Multistate Performance Test (MPT) 
questions and the 200-question Multistate Bar Exam (MBE). It is uniformly 
administered, graded, and scored by UBE jurisdictions and produces a portable 
bar exam score that can be used to seek admission in other UBE states. 
Minnesota requires a UBE score of 260 for admission.  
 
Applicants seeking admission by UBE score must complete and submit an 
application to the Board office within three (3) years of the date the Applicant sat 
for the UBE examination in which Applicant achieved the qualifying UBE score. A 
UBE Applicant need not have been licensed in the state or jurisdiction in which 
the Applicant took the UBE. More information can be found in Rule 7C.  

https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#7
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#6
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#4
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#7
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#7
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Graduates of non-ABA approved law schools are not eligible for admission under 
Rule 7C. 
 
14. Can a UBE score achieved in Minnesota be transferred into another 

UBE state? 
 

An exam score achieved in Minnesota and certified by the National Conference 
of Bar Examiners (NCBE) as a UBE score may be transferred to another UBE 
state. Currently, the UBE states include: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, 
Idaho, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North 
Dakota, Utah, Washington and Wyoming. The state to which the UBE is 
transferred makes a character and fitness determination and may have other 
admission requirements. Each UBE state sets its own passing score. Contact the 
state to which you wish to transfer a UBE score for further details.  
 
15. Must motion applicants meet other prerequisites prior to admission 

in Minnesota?  
 
Applicants for admission on motion must satisfy all the necessary prerequisites 
for admission in Minnesota outlined in Question #1 above. See Rules for 
Admission to the Bar. Motion Applicants who have taken the Multistate 
Professional Responsibility Examination in another state may transfer that score 
to Minnesota.  
 
16. Does Minnesota have only one Bar Application form regardless of 

the type of admission the applicant seeks?  
 
The same bar application form is used whether the Applicant is applying for 
admission on motion or by examination. Applicants start the application process 
by registering on the Board’s Applicant Portal. Any Applicant who is unable to 
use the portal may register by phone by calling (651) 297-1857 and asking for 
telephone registration.  
 
17. Does Minnesota require passage of an ethics test prior to 

admission? 
 
With the exception of Applicants seeking a license under the house counsel 
Rules 9 and 10, and legal services programs, Rule 8, Applicants must take the 
Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) and receive a scaled 
score of 85 or higher. 
 
18. What is the MPRE? 
 
The MPRE is a two-hour 50-question multiple-choice test which may be taken 
again if an examinee does not achieve a passing score. The MPRE tests the 
American Bar Association’s Model Rules of Professional Conduct, as well as the 

https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#7
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/
https://portal.ble.mn.gov/


7 
 

Model Code of Judicial Conduct. For more information, visit the NCBE’s website 
at http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mpre/.   
 
19. When and where is the MPRE given? 
 
The MPRE is administered three times per year by the National Conference of 
Bar Examiners (NCBE) at test sites in Minnesota and in other states. Unlike the 
Minnesota bar examination, the ethics test may be taken during law school. The 
MPRE is not given as part of the Minnesota bar exam.  
 
20. Is there a practice exam available to help in preparation for the 

MPRE?  
 
The NCBE also makes available, for a modest fee, an online practice exam 
designed to assist examinees as they prepare for the MPRE. The practice test 
uses retired MPRE questions and provides an explanation as to why each 
possible answer is either right or wrong. Information regarding the online practice 
exams is available at http://www.ncbex.org/study-aids/.  
 
Examinees are encouraged to use these resources in preparation for the 
examination. 
 
21. How is the Minnesota Bar Examination structured and when is it 

given? 
 
The Minnesota Bar Examination is a two-day test consisting of two 90-minute 
Multistate Performance Test (MPT) questions, six 30-minute Multistate Essay 
Exam (MEE) questions, and a 200-question six-hour long multiple-choice 
Multistate Bar Exam (MBE). The test is given each year in St. Paul, Minnesota, 
on the last Tuesday and Wednesday of the month of February and the month of 
July.  
 
22. Who drafts MEE questions? 
 
Questions on the essay portion of the Minnesota Bar Examination are drafted by 
law professors, judges, and practitioners under the auspices of the National 
Conference of Bar Examiners. The examination covers at least six of the 13 test 
topics listed in Rule 6E of the Rules. The essays test general principles of law, 
not Minnesota-specific law. The questions are designed to elicit a thorough 
discussion of a variety of legal issues and a detailed analysis of the legal problem 
presented. For more information, visit the NCBE’s website at 
http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mee/.   
 
 
  
 

http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mpre/
http://www.ncbex.org/study-aids/
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#6
http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mee/
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23. What Is the Multistate Performance Test? 
 
The National Conference of Bar Examiners’ Multistate Performance Test (MPT) 
is a 90-minute legal skill examination that requires completion of a designated 
legal task. The test is not intended to test substantive legal knowledge, but rather 
to examine the following six (6) fundamental lawyering skills: 
 

• the ability to sort detailed factual materials and separate relevant from 
irrelevant facts; 

• the ability to analyze statutory, case and administrative materials for 
principles of law; 

• the ability to apply the law to the relevant facts in a manner likely to 
resolve a client’s problem; 

• the ability to identify and resolve ethical dilemmas, when presented; 
• the ability to communicate effectively in writing; and 
• the ability to complete a lawyering task within time constraints. 

 
Two 90-minute performance questions are given during the Tuesday morning 
session. For more information, visit the NCBE’s website at 
http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mpt/.  
 
24. How are the MEE and MPT questions graded? 
 
Essay answers and MPT answers are graded by a 3-grader team of trained 
Minnesota lawyers. Each grader on the team receives a copy of the question and 
is required to draft a legal analysis, covering the points which should be included 
in an answer to the question. 
 
Graders participate in a national calibration teleconference facilitated by the 
NCBE and attended by graders from across the country. The three Minnesota 
graders then continue to meet for an extended calibration session among 
themselves. 
 
25. Who are the graders for the MEE and MPT? 
 
The graders are licensed Minnesota attorneys with strong academic credentials 
and varied practical legal experience who have been recommended by bar 
associations, judges, or other graders. Graders are trained in how best to reach 
consensus, while working with a 3-grader team so that they grade in a fair, 
consistent, and reliable manner.  
 
26. How are the MPT and essay exams scored? 
 
The graders grade the MPT and essay answers on a 1 to 6 scale by rank 
ordering the papers from the weakest (a score of 1) to the strongest (a score of 
6). Blank books are scored as zero. Raw scores are converted to scaled scores 

http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mpt/
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using the standard deviation method of scaling. (See below for additional 
information on how the scores are scaled and combined). Each examinee’s 
scaled essay and MPT score is then added to the examinee’s scaled MBE score 
to form a total score. Examinees with a total scaled score of 260 or above pass 
the examination. Examinees with a total score of 259 or below fail the exam. 
 
27. How are the different sections of the examination weighted? 
 
The MBE examination is weighted 50% of the total examination score; each 
essay question is 5% for a total weight of 30% for the essay portion of the 
examination; and each of the 2 performance test questions is weighted 10%; 
totaling 100% of the total examination score.  
 
28. How is the total scaled score calculated? 
 
Minnesota examinees’ raw essay and MPT scores are combined then scaled to 
the distribution of the Minnesota MBE scores using the standard deviation 
method of scaling. The mean and standard deviation of the essay MPT scores 
are converted to the mean and standard deviation of the MBE scores. An 
individual’s essay and MPT scores are placed on the same scale as that of the 
MBE scores. The scaled scores are added together to constitute a total scaled 
exam score upon which the pass/fail decision is made. A total scaled score equal 
to or greater than 260 is a passing score. 
 
The MBE scores are scaled by the National Conference of Bar Examiners to 
previous administrations of the MBE so that the difficulty of the current exam is 
the same as that of previously administered examinations.  
 
29. Are essay and MPT answers re-graded? 
 
An examinee whose total scaled score is below the passing score of 260 will 
have their essay answers and MPT answers re-graded by two graders assigned 
to each question. No person fails the Minnesota Bar Examination unless each of 
his or her essay and MPT answers is graded and re-graded by graders on each 
of the 8 grading teams, a total of 24 graders.  
 
Because there is no minimum passing score on either the essay/MPT portion or 
the MBE portion, examinees may compensate for a deficiency in one portion of 
the examination by doing well on the other portion. The total passing score must 
be at or above 260. 
 
30. What is the Multistate Bar Examination (MBE)? 
 
The Multistate Bar Examination (MBE) is given on the second day of the bar 
examination and consists of 200 multiple-choice questions; 100 questions in the 
morning and in the afternoon sessions. 
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The MBE covers the following basic areas of law: 
• Torts 
• Contracts 
• Evidence  
• Real Property (including Future Interests) 
• Criminal Law and Procedure 
• Constitutional Law 

 
Effective with the July 2015 bar examination, a seventh MBE topic, Civil 
Procedure, will be added to the MBE portion of the exam. For more information, 
visit the NCBE’s website at http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mbe/.   
 
31. Are there sample questions and answers available? 
 
Many examinees find that reviewing past essay and MPT examination questions 
is helpful in preparing for the examination. Past essay examination questions, a 
brief summary of past MPT questions, and representative good answers from 
past examinations are available on the Board’s website at 
https://www.ble.mn.gov/bar-exam/representative-good-answers. MPT and MBE 
sample questions are also available through the National Conference of Bar 
Examiners (NCBE) website.  
 
32. Is there a practice exam available to help in preparation for the MBE 

portion of the Minnesota Bar Examination?  
 
The NCBE also makes available, for a modest fee, an online practice exam 
designed to assist examinees as they prepare for the MBE. The practice test 
uses retired MBE questions and provides an explanation as to why each possible 
answer is either right or wrong. Information regarding the online practice exams 
is available at http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mbe/preparing/.   
 
Examinees are encouraged to use these resources in preparation for the 
examination. 
 
33. How many times can someone take the Minnesota Bar Examination? 
 
There is no limit on the number of times an examinee can repeat the exam. An 
unsuccessful examinee may apply to retake the Minnesota Bar Examination by 
filing an application and submitting the fee required by the Rules. This application 
must be received on or before the published late filing deadline, as referenced in 
Rule 11 of the Rules for Admission to the Bar. 
 
 
 
 

http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mbe/
https://www.ble.mn.gov/bar-exam/representative-good-answers
http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mpt/preparing/
http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mbe/preparing/
http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mbe/preparing/


11 
 

34. Does passing the Bar Examination mean an applicant will be 
automatically admitted to the Bar? 

 
Passing the bar examination is only one of the required prerequisites for 
admission to the Bar of Minnesota. The Board will recommend the admission of 
an Applicant who passes the bar examination and satisfies the other necessary 
prerequisites for admission as outlined in Question #1 (above) and in the Board 
Rules. 
 
35. Following admission to the Bar, are there other requirements with 

which a lawyer must comply? 
 
Once licensed in Minnesota, a lawyer must comply with other regulations of the 
Supreme Court in order to retain his or her license, including the following: 
 

• Attend 45 hours of approved continuing legal education (CLE) courses 
(including three hours of ethics and two hours elimination of bias) every 
three years and report attendance in a timely manner to the Board of 
Continuing Legal Education (see Rules of the Minnesota State Board of 
Continuing Legal Education);  

• If handling client funds, maintain those funds in an interest-bearing 
account, with interest paid to the Minnesota IOLTA Program (see Rules on 
Lawyers Professional Responsibility); and 

• Pay an annual license fee to the Lawyer Registration Office of the 
Supreme Court (see Rules of the Supreme Court On Lawyer Registration) 
and report any address or name changes to that office.  

 
The CLE Office and the Lawyer Registration Office are co-located with the Board 
of Law Examiners at 180 E. 5th Street, Suite 950, St. Paul, MN 55101. 

 
New attorneys should consult the Minnesota Rules of Professional Conduct and 
other Rules of the Supreme Court for other obligations of practice. 
 
36. Does admission to the Bar also mean membership in the Minnesota 

State Bar Association? 
 
Admission to the bar of the State of Minnesota is not the same as membership in 
the Minnesota State Bar Association (MSBA).  
 
The MSBA is a voluntary professional organization providing lawyers with 
valuable opportunities for continuing legal education, pro bono service, and 
professional development. All new attorneys are provided a free year of 
membership in the MSBA. Following the first year of practice, the lawyer must 
pay a fee in order to maintain membership in the MSBA. 
 
 

https://cle.mn.gov/rules
https://cle.mn.gov/rules
http://lprb.mncourts.gov/rules/Pages/RLPR.aspx
http://lprb.mncourts.gov/rules/Pages/RLPR.aspx
https://lro.mn.gov/rules
http://lprb.mncourts.gov/rules/Pages/MRPC.aspx
http://www.mnbar.org/
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37. Is there a different admission procedure for the federal courts? 
 
While a Minnesota license and registration qualifies an attorney to practice in all 
the state courts of Minnesota, further steps must be taken to practice before the 
federal courts. Admission is administered by the clerk of the federal court. 
Inquiries and requests for application materials should be directed to the federal 
court at (651) 848-1100 or you may find additional information at the United 
States District Court’s website at www.mnd.uscourts.gov/.  
 
38. What should I do if I have questions about the bar admission 

process in Minnesota? 
 
Applicants or potential Applicants to the bar who have questions about the 
admissions process should feel free to refer to the Board’s website 
https://www.ble.mn.gov or call the Board office at (651) 297-1857.  

http://www.mnd.uscourts.gov/
https://www.ble.mn.gov/
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