Policy Statement on Admission without Examination, Eligibility by Practice
(Rule 7A)

An applicant applying under Rule 7A must provide documentary evidence showing that
for at least 60 of the 84 months immediately prior to filing the application, the applicant
has been “engaged, as principal occupation, in the lawful practice of law” in one of the

activities listed in Rule 7A(1)(c).

Hours Required:

Rule 7A permits lawyers licensed in another jurisdiction to be admitted without
examination if they have engaged in the practice of law in another jurisdiction for 60 of
the 84 months immediately preceding the application. The phrase “engaged as principal
occupation” is interpreted to mean that one’s practice of law must be full-time or
substantially full-time (at least 120 hours or more per month).

The applicant has the burden of proving eligibility under Rule 7A. The Board determines
eligibility on a case-by-case basis using the documentary evidence submitted by the
applicant and information obtained during the investigation.

Type of Work and Jurisdiction:

The Board also reviews the type of work that the lawyer has performed. Generally, work
that does not require a law degree will not qualify toward the Rule 7A practice
requirement. In addition, unless the work meets the exceptions outlined in Rule 7A(2),
the time will not qualify if performed in a jurisdiction in which the lawyer is not admitted.

Some positions require licensure in “any jurisdiction” but do not specifically require
licensure in the jurisdiction in which the lawyer is practicing. For these positions, the
Board will make additional inquiry as to the type of work performed and whether the
work is considered to be the lawful practice of law in the jurisdiction in which it was
performed. For example, document review work performed in Minnesota by a lawyer
licensed in New York would not qualify if the position required a J.D. but not licensure,
or if the work could be performed by a paralegal. However, if the lawyer was providing
advice on New York law and was licensed in New York, then the time would likely
qualify.

Converting to Rule 6:

If an applicant is unable to provide documentation showing that the applicant meets the
requirements of Rule 7A, the Board will advise the applicant that the applicant must take
and pass the Minnesota bar examination in order to be admitted in Minnesota. An
applicant who applies under Rule 7A who is determined to be ineligible may convert his
or her application to Rule 6 and sit for an examination within the succeeding 15 months.
No additional fee is required. See Rule 12J.
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