180 East 5th Street, Suite 950
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

Phone: (651) 297-1857 | Fax: (651) 297-1196
Email: ble@mbcle.state.mn.us

Step 3: Fill Out Any Required Supplemental Forms

Click on the Rule you are applying for admission under – each application type has different requirements.

Expand all

Bar Exam (Rule 6) – ABA law school graduate
Print checklist

Include the following with your application:

1. Photo ID Card (will be used as a photo badge at the bar exam)

i. Obtain a passport-style photo that includes head, neck and shoulders only.
ii. Print Photo ID form
iii. Attach your photo to the card
iv. Sign your name on the card
v. Cut out the card
vi. Paperclip card to your application

2. Two notarized affidavits from persons who attest to your good character (see Rule 4B(4)). See a sample affidavit.

3. Application fee (see chart to determine your fee)

4. Laptop Registration Form and $100 fee (Optional – only if you will be using a laptop at the exam)

i. Review the Laptop Testing Instructions/Information
ii. Fill out the Laptop Registration Form
iii. Print the Laptop Registration Form
iv. Paperclip form to application
v. Include $100 laptop fee (can be on the same check as your application fee)

5. Certified copy of driving record

6. Criminal History Check (CHC): As part of the investigation process, you will be required to provide a criminal history check for certain states you have lived in more than 1 year during the past 10 years. These are listed in the application. The CHC does not need to be submitted with your application, but you may apply for the CHC before it is requested in order to expedite your application.

7. If you are licensed in another jurisdiction, provide the documents listed in Rule 4D

8. Supplemental forms and attachments and/or specific documentation required by some application questions. Check the upper left corner of the required Supplemental Forms for a list of required documents.

9. Non-Standard Test Accommodation Forms (Optional: only if you are requesting accommodations because of a disability or if you will be breastfeeding at the exam)

i. Review the Policy and Instructions for Requesting Test Accommodations
ii. Fill out the required forms
iii. Print the required forms
iv. Paperclip forms to application

Bar Exam (Rule 6) – non-ABA law school graduate and lawyer
As stated in Rule 4A(3)(b)(iv), graduates of non-ABA approved law schools have additional requirements to be admitted in Minnesota: a) they must prove that they have been licensed in another U.S. state or territory and have practiced law for 60 of the 84 months immediately preceding the submission of the application and the practice must have been in one or more of the activities listed in Rule 7A(1)(c), and b) they must take and pass the Minnesota bar examination. In addition, prior to authorizing a non-ABA graduate to sit for the Minnesota bar examination, the Board will review and make a determination as to whether the applicant’s practice meets the requirements of the rules.

Graduates of non-ABA approved law schools are strongly urged to apply six or more months prior to the bar examination for which they intend to sit. The Board must first determine whether the Applicant’s practice meets the requirements of the Board’s rules. Please contact the Board office for more information.

Years of Practice (Rule 7A)
Print checklist

Include the following with your application:

1. Two notarized affidavits from persons who attest to your good character (see Rule 4B(4)). See a sample affidavit.

2. Application fee of $950

3. Certified copy of driving record

4. Criminal History Check (CHC): As part of the investigation process, you will be required to provide a criminal history check for certain states you have lived in more than 1 year during the past 10 years. These are listed in the application. The CHC does not need to be submitted with your application, but you may apply for the CHC before it is requested in order to expedite your application.

5. Certified copy of bar admission application to each jurisdiction you have applied to (see Rule 4D)

6. Document from the proper authority in each jurisdiction in which you are admitted stating your date of admission to the bar (see Rule 4D)

7. Document from the proper authority in each jurisdiction in which you are admitted stating that you are in good standing (see Rule 4D)

8. Document from the proper authority in each jurisdiction in which you are admitted that states whether or not you are subject of any pending complaint or charge of misconduct (see Rule 4D)

9. Supplemental forms and attachments and/or specific documentation required by some application questions. Check the upper left corner of the required Supplemental Forms for a list of required documents.

Transfer MBE Score (Rule 7B)
Print checklist

Include the following with your application:

1. Two notarized affidavits from persons who attest to your good character (see Rule 4B(4)). See a sample affidavit.

2. Request your MBE score transferred to Minnesota from the NCBE

3. Application fee of $950

4. Certified copy of driving record

5. Criminal History Check (CHC): As part of the investigation process, you will be required to provide a criminal history check for certain states you have lived in more than 1 year during the past 10 years. These are listed in the application. The CHC does not need to be submitted with your application, but you may apply for the CHC before it is requested in order to expedite your application.

6. Certified copy of bar admission application to each jurisdiction you have applied to (see Rule 4D)

7. Document from the proper authority in each jurisdiction in which you are admitted stating your date of admission to the bar (see Rule 4D)

8. Document from the proper authority in each jurisdiction in which you are admitted stating that you are in good standing (see Rule 4D)

9. Document from the proper authority in each jurisdiction in which you are admitted that states whether or not you are subject of any pending complaint or charge of misconduct (see Rule 4D)

10. Supplemental forms and attachments and/or specific documentation required by some application questions. Check the upper left corner of the required Supplemental Forms for a list of required documents.

Transfer UBE Score (Rule 7C)
Print checklist

Include the following with your application:

1. Two notarized affidavits from persons who attest to your good character (see Rule 4B(4)). See a sample affidavit.

2. Request your UBE score transferred to Minnesota from the NCBE

3. Application fee of $950

4. Certified copy of driving record

5. Criminal History Check (CHC): As part of the investigation process, you will be required to provide a criminal history check for certain states you have lived in more than 1 year during the past 10 years. These are listed in the application. The CHC does not need to be submitted with your application, but you may apply for the CHC before it is requested in order to expedite your application.

6. If you are licensed in another jurisdiction, provide the documents listed in Rule 4D

7. Supplemental forms and attachments and/or specific documentation required by some application questions. Check the upper left corner of the required Supplemental Forms for a list of required documents.

Temporary Legal Services License (Rule 8)
Print checklist

Include the following with your application:

1. An affidavit from your Minnesota legal services employer attesting to his or her knowledge of your competence and good character, and the fact that you have accepted employment as a lawyer for a legal services program in Minnesota and will be supervised by a licensed Minnesota lawyer (see Rule 8B)

2. Certified copy of bar admission application to each jurisdiction you have applied to (see Rule 4D)

3. Document from the proper authority in each jurisdiction in which you are admitted stating that you are in good standing (see Rule 8B)

4. Document from the proper authority in each jurisdiction in which you are admitted that states whether or not you are subject of any pending complaint or charge of misconduct (see Rule 8B)

5. Two notarized affidavits from persons who attest to your good character (see Rule 8B). See a sample affidavit.

6. Application fee of $75

7. Certified copy of your state driving record

8. Criminal History Check (CHC): As part of the investigation process, you will be required to provide a criminal history check for certain states you have lived in more than 1 year during the past 10 years. These are listed in the application. The CHC does not need to be submitted with your application, but you may apply for the CHC before it is requested in order to expedite your application.

9. Supplemental forms and attachments and/or specific documentation required by some application questions. Check the upper left corner of the required Supplemental Forms for a list of required documents.

Temporary House Counsel License (Rule 9)
Print checklist

Include the following with your application:

1. An affidavit from an officer, director, or general counsel of your employer or parent company of the employer stating the start date of your employment and attesting to the fact that you are employed as house counsel solely for the employer, that you are an individual of good character, and that the nature of the employment meets the requirement of Rule 9C(3)

2. Certified copy of bar admission application to each jurisdiction you have applied to (see Rule 4D)

3. Document showing your date of admission to the bar from the proper authority in each jurisdiction you are admitted (see Rule 4D)

4. Document stating that you are in good standing from the proper authority in each jurisdiction you are admitted (see Rule 4D)

5. Document from the proper authority in each jurisdiction you are admitted in indicating if you are subject of any pending complaint or charge of misconduct (see Rule 4D)

6. Two notarized affidavits from persons who attest to your good character (see Rule 4B(4)). See a sample affidavit.

7. Application fee of $950

8. Certified copy of driving record

9. Criminal History Check (CHC): As part of the investigation process, you will be required to provide a criminal history check for certain states you have lived in more than 1 year during the past 10 years. These are listed in the application. The CHC does not need to be submitted with your application, but you may apply for the CHC before it is requested in order to expedite your application.

10. Supplemental forms and attachments and/or specific documentation required by some application questions. Check the upper left corner of the required Supplemental Forms for a list of required documents.

House Counsel License (Rule 10)
Print checklist

1. An affidavit from an officer, director, or general counsel of your employer or parent company employer stating the start date of employment and attesting to the fact that you are employed as house counsel solely for that employer, that you are an individual of good character, and that the nature of the employment meets the requirements of Rule 10B(1)

2. Certified copy of bar admission application to each jurisdiction you have applied to (see Rule 4D)

3. Document from the proper authority in each jurisdiction in which you are admitted stating your date of admission to the bar (see Rule 4D)

4. Document from the proper authority in each jurisdiction in which you are admitted stating that you are in good standing (see Rule 4D)

5. Document from the proper authority in each jurisdiction in which you are admitted that states whether or not you are subject of any pending complaint or charge of misconduct (see Rule 4D)

6. Two notarized affidavits from persons who attest to your good character (see Rule 4B(4)). See a sample affidavit.

7. Application fee of $700

8. Certified copy of driving record

9. Criminal History Check (CHC): As part of the investigation process, you will be required to provide a criminal history check for certain states you have lived in more than 1 year during the past 10 years. These are listed in the application. The CHC does not need to be submitted with your application, but you may apply for the CHC before it is requested in order to expedite your application.

10. Supplemental forms and attachments and/or specific documentation required by some application questions. Check the upper left corner of the required Supplemental Forms for a list of required documents.

Foreign Legal Consultant License (Rule 11)
Print checklist

Include the following with your application (all documents must be in English or accompanied by a duly authenticated English translation):

1. Certificate from the authority having final jurisdiction over professional discipline in the foreign country in which you are admitted to practice. The certificate shall be accompanied by the official seal, if any. The certificate must certify:

a. The authority’s jurisdiction over such matters
b. Your admission to practice in the foreign country, date of admission, your good standing as a lawyer or counselor at law or the equivalent in that jurisdiction

2. Document from the authority having final jurisdiction over professional discipline in any foreign country or jurisdiction in which you have been licensed as a lawyer or as a foreign legal consultant indicating whether any charge or complaint has ever been filed against you with the authority, and if so, the substance of each charge or complaint, and the adjudication or resolution of each charge or complaint

3. Letter of recommendation certifying your professional qualifications signed by one of the members of the executive body of the authority having final jurisdiction over professional discipline or from one of the judges of the highest court of law of the foreign country. The letter shall be accompanied with the official seal, if any.

4. Three letters of recommendation from lawyers or counselors at law or the equivalent admitted in and practicing in the foreign country where you are admitted. The letters must include the length of time they have known you, under what circumstances they have known you, and a statement of their appraisal of your good character and fitness for admission.

5. Two notarized letters of recommendation from members in good standing of the Minnesota bar. The letters must include the length of time they have known you, under what circumstances they have known you, and a statement of their appraisal of your good character and fitness for admission.

6. A statement that you have read, understand, and make a commitment to observe the Minnesota Rules of Professional Conduct

7. Evidence that you have received a scaled score of 85 or higher on the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination or a sworn statement attesting to your attendance, within the previous 12 months, of no fewer than 6 hours of coursework in legal ethics accredited by the Minnesota Board of Continuing Legal Education

8. Evidence of professional liability insurance in an amount deemed sufficient by the director

9. Written and notarized statement setting forth your address within the state of Minnesota and designating the Clerk of Appellate Courts as agent for the service of process for all purposes

10. Affidavit stating you will notify the Board of any resignation or revocation of your admission to practice in the foreign country of admission, or in any other state or jurisdiction in which you have been licensed as a lawyer or counselor at law or equivalent or as a foreign legal consultant, or of any censure, suspension, or expulsion in respect of such admission

11. Affidavit from an officer, director, or general counsel of your employer attesting to the fact that you are employed as house counsel solely for that employer and agreeing to notify the Board if your employment is terminated (ONLY IF YOU ARE EMPLOYED AS HOUSE COUNSEL)

12. Criminal History Check (CHC): As part of the investigation process, you will be required to provide a criminal history check for certain states you have lived in more than 1 year during the past 10 years. These are listed in the application. The CHC does not need to be submitted with your application, but you may apply for the CHC before it is requested in order to expedite your application.

13. Application fee of $1,200

14. Supplemental forms and attachments and/or specific documentation required by some application questions. Check the upper left corner of the required Supplemental Forms for a list of required documents.

Some documents require a PDF reader to view properly.