Click the topics below for more information.
1. How can I get a replacement or duplicate wall certificate?
Submit a written request and a check for $25 payable to the Minnesota Board of Law Examiners. Mail the request to the Board office. The certificate can only be printed in your legal name. If you are requesting a new certificate due to a name change, please send a copy of your marriage certificate or court order with your request. Please also submit a Name Change Request form to the Lawyer Registration Office to update your name in the Minnesota Attorney Registration System (MARS).
2. Can I get a copy of my original application with its attachments?
Yes. You may request a copy of your original application and its initial attachments if you applied within the last 10 years. You must complete the request form from the Board’s website and follow the instructions.
3. How long does the Board retain copies of bar applications? What if my application has been purged?
Per our office retention policy, we keep applications on file for 10 years. If you are requesting the application because it is required by another jurisdiction and we no longer have a copy of the application, we can provide a letter to that jurisdiction stating that we no longer have your application. To request this, mail, fax, or email a signed written request to the Board office that includes your name at the time you applied and where you would like us to send the letter.
4. How do I report an address or name change after I'm admitted?
Once admitted, lawyers submit name or address changes to the Lawyer Registration Office.
5. What is the Minnesota State Bar Association?
The Minnesota State Bar Association (MSBA) is a voluntary professional organization that gives lawyers valuable opportunities for continuing legal education, pro bono service, and professional development. All new lawyers get one free year of membership in the MSBA. After the first year lawyers must pay a fee to keep MSBA membership.
6. How do I request a Certificate of Good Standing from Minnesota?
Visit the Lawyer Registration Office website to request a Certificate of Good Standing and submit the fee.
7. Can I find out if someone (other than myself) passed the bar exam?
All bar exam-related information is confidential. Once admitted, the names of Minnesota licensed lawyers are published in the Minnesota Attorney Registration System (MARS).
9. How do I get admitted in the Federal District Court of Minnesota?
Contact the Federal Clerk of Courts at (651) 848-1100.
10. How many lawyers are in Minnesota?
See the Lawyer Registration Office annual reports.
12. How do I file a complaint against a lawyer?
13. How can I find out about admission requirements in other states?
The American Bar Association and National Conference of Bar Examiners publish the “Comprehensive Guide to Bar Admission Requirements” which lists all states’ admission requirements. Visit the NCBE’s website to view or purchase the publication.
14. How can I get a Minnesota “Evidence of Admission by Bar Examination” letter if I am applying to another jurisdiction?
Mail, fax, or email a signed written request to the Board office, attn: Bar Administrator. You must include your name at the time you applied and where you would like us to send the letter. Sometimes, jurisdictions requesting this proof have a specific form for this request that can be sent to us.
15. How do I transfer my MPRE, UBE, or MBE score to another state or jurisdiction?
The National Conference of Bar Examiners handles all score transfers. Visit their website or call (319) 337-1304 for information.
16. I want to transfer my MPRE score to another jurisdiction, but the NCBE no longer has a record of it. Can Minnesota provide the score?
We may be able to provide either the score or advise that you received a score of 85 or higher. Send a letter to the Board office with your request. Include your name when you applied for admission in Minnesota, the date you were admitted in Minnesota, the date of the bar exam (if applicable), and the address where you want us to send the information. If we no longer have your actual score, we will send a letter stating that Minnesota requires an MPRE score of 85 to be admitted, and that you would have received a score of 85 or higher (if admitted to Minnesota after the date Minnesota started requiring the MPRE).
Some documents require a PDF reader to view properly.