180 East 5th Street, Suite 950
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

Phone: (651) 297-1857 | Fax: (651) 297-1196
Email: ble@mbcle.state.mn.us

Admission on Motion

These questions are for those applying on motion (Rule 7, 8, 9, 10, or 11).

Please refer to the State of Minnesota Rules for Admission to the Bar for complete information, or From Diploma to License for more detailed instructions.

Click on the questions below for more information.

Expand all

1. How much does the application cost?
See Rule 12 for a schedule of fees or view this chart.
2. Can I pay with cash?
Yes, although we prefer that you pay by personal check, money order, or certified check made payable to the Minnesota Board of Law Examiners. The Board is unable to make change.
3. Do you accept personal checks?
Yes.
4. Do you accept credit cards?
No.
5. Is there a deadline for my application by motion?
No, if you are applying on years of practice (Rule 7A). If you are applying for admission under Rule 7B (MBE score), you must apply within 24 months of the date of the qualifying exam being used as the basis for admission. If you are applying for admission under Rule 7C (UBE score), you must apply within 36 months of the date of the qualifying exam being used as the basis for admission.
6. What is the educational requirement an attorney admitted in another state or jurisdiction who applies for admission on motion in Minnesota?
See Rule 4A(3). Minnesota requires either:

1) a J.D. or LL.B. degree from a law school which is approved (fully or provisionally) by the American Bar Association, or

2) all of the following:

  • Bachelor’s degree from an agency recognized by the U.S. Dept. of Education;
  • J.D. from a law school located within any state or territory in the U.S. or District of Columbia;
  • License to practice law in any state of territory of the U.S. or District of Columbia
  • Must have practiced law in 60 of the previous 84 months; and
  • Evidence of practice, as a principal occupation, in one or more of the activities listed in Rule 7A(1)(c) for 60 of the previous 84 months.
7. Can I be admitted in Minnesota with an LLM degree?
No. An LL.M. degree (whether or not from an accredited law school) is not sufficient in Minnesota.
8. I am an attorney from another state or jurisdiction. How can I be admitted to the Minnesota bar without taking the exam?
If your educational requirements qualify under Rule 4A, there are three ways you can be admitted on motion in Minnesota:

1) If you have been practicing law for at least 1000 hours per year for at least 36 of the past 60 months, you may be eligible. See Rule 7A for additional requirements.

2) If you received a scaled score of 145 or higher on the Multistate Bar Examination (MBE) in the past 24 months, you may be eligible. See Rule 7B for additional requirements.

3) If you received a scaled score of 260 or higher on the Uniform Bar Examination (UBE) in the past 36 months, you may be eligible. See Rule 7C for additional requirements.

9. If I am eligible to apply by MBE score or UBE score, which should I choose?
It does not matter. As long as you meet the deadline requirements, there is no benefit to applying by one rule instead of the other.
10. How can I transfer my MBE (Multistate Bar Exam) score to Minnesota?
Once you’ve checked the jurisdiction in which you are admitted for rules regarding release of score information, visit the NCBE’s website for information on transferring your score.
11. How can I transfer my UBE (Uniform Bar Exam) score to Minnesota?
Visit the NCBE’s website for information on transferring your UBE score.
12. How do I transfer my MPRE (Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam) score to Minnesota or to another state or jurisdiction?
The National Conference of Bar Examiners handles all MPRE score transfers. Visit their website or call (319) 337-1304 for information.
13. What MPRE score is required by Minnesota?
85 or higher. If you do not know what your score is, call our office to ask. We cannot tell you what your score is, but we will tell you if you qualify for Minnesota standards.
14. What if I want to apply in Minnesota on the basis of my MBE or UBE score, but the jurisdiction where I took the bar exam won’t issue their bar results until after the Minnesota examination filing deadlines?
You must file your Minnesota application for the bar exam by the Minnesota filing deadline (see Rule 6B). If you later find out that you qualify to apply for admission based on your MBE or UBE score, you may transfer your submitted application from a Rule 6 (Examination) application to a Rule 7B (MBE score) or Rule 7C (UBE score) application and pay the additional fee, if any.
15. I didn’t receive a successful UBE score in another jurisdiction, but it is a passing score for Minnesota. Can I still apply to motion in Minnesota with my UBE score, even though I was not admitted and my exam score was unsuccessful in that jurisdiction?
Yes. As long as you received a UBE score of 260 or higher that has been certified as a UBE score by the NCBE, and you apply to Minnesota within 36 months of the date of the qualifying exam.
16. If I was admitted in another jurisdiction without taking the MPRE, can I be admitted in Minnesota without taking the MPRE?
No. Everyone who applies for admission to the Minnesota Bar must take the MPRE and receive a scaled score of 85 or higher.
17. Does the MPRE expire?
No, your MPRE score remains a valid score and does not expire.
18. How long does it take to process an application?
For motion applicants, an application takes an average of 3 to 6 months to process. The process may take longer if you do not provide timely responses to Board’s requests for additional information or if there issues in your past that require further investigation. To expedite the investigation, we recommend checking your portal frequently.
19. Once I am recommended for admission, can I attend an admission ceremony?
Yes. The Lawyer Registration Office organizes monthly admission ceremonies in the courtroom of the Supreme Court.

You may also be admitted in absentia through the Lawyer Registration Office. You may contact the Lawyer Registration Office for additional assistance.

Applicant for admission on motion may NOT attend the ceremonies that are held for those applicants that sat for and passed the most current bar application.

20. How can I order a replacement wall certificate if I lost or damaged my original?
Fill out an affidavit saying why you need a new wall certificate. Mail it to the Board office, along with a $25.00 check and the old certificate (if available). If the wall certificate is not available, include why it is not available in your affidavit. If you have a name change, send a copy of your marriage certificate or court order with your request.
21. Can I receive a certified copy of my application or a copy of the application and the application attachments?
Yes. If you want a copy of the application and attachments you filed or uploaded during the course of the application process, send a written request along with a $30.00 check or money order made payable to the Minnesota Board of Law Examiners. Your request must include your name as it appeared on the application and the address in which to mail the requested document(s) (personal, business, or another jurisdiction).
22. How can I obtain a document from another jurisdiction showing the date of admission, a document stating good standing, or a document stating that no charges are pending?
You must contact the state or jurisdiction where you are admitted to have them provide these documents to the Minnesota Board of Law Examiners. They must be original documents – we cannot accept a copy.
23. How can I find out about admission requirements in other states?
The American Bar Association and National Conference of Bar Examiners publish the “Comprehensive Guide to Bar Admission Requirements” which lists all states’ admission requirements. Visit the NCBE’s website to view or purchase the publication.
24. How can I get a Minnesota “Evidence of Admission by Bar Examination” letter if I am applying to another jurisdiction?
Mail or fax a written request with your signature to the Board office, attn: Bar Administrator. We cannot accept email requests. Sometimes, jurisdictions requesting this proof have a specific form for this request that can be sent to us.
25. After I've been admitted, who do I contact if I have an address or name change?
Once you are admitted, you may submit name or address changes through Lawyer Registration. Visit their website for more information.
26. How do I get admitted in the Federal Court in Minnesota?
Contact the Federal Clerk of Courts at website or (651) 848-1100.
27. I applied for an in-house counsel license. Can I transfer my in-house application to a Rule 7A, Admission by Years of Practice license?
No. You must complete and submit a new application and send the appropriate fees for this license. We recommend that applicants who qualify under either Rule 10 or Rule 7A apply under Rule 7A, even if the Applicant will be working for a corporation and qualifies under Rule 10.
28. How will I know without applying if I qualify to apply under Rule 7A?
Read the language of Rule 7A(1) and 7A(2) and the Policy Statement on Admission without Examination, Eligibility by Practice carefully to determine if your work history qualifies. If you are practicing in a jurisdiction in which you are not licensed, you will be required to provide documentation detailing how the practice meets the requirements of Rule 7A(2).
29. I want to transfer my MPRE score to another jurisdiction, but the NCBE no longer has a record of it. Can Minnesota provide the score?
We may be able to provide either the score or advise that you received a score of 85 or higher. Send a letter to the Board office with your request. Include your name when you applied for admission in Minnesota, the date you were admitted in Minnesota, the date of the bar exam (if applicable), and the address where you want us to send the information. If we no longer have your actual score, we will send a letter stating that Minnesota requires an MPRE score of 85 to be admitted, and that you would have received a score of 85 or higher.

 

Some documents require a PDF reader to view properly.