Years of Practice (Rule 7A)
Under Rule 7A, a lawyer licensed in another state or jurisdiction may apply for admission to Minnesota without taking the bar exam.
You must meet the following minimum requirements to apply under Rule 7A:
- Held a law license in active status from another US state or jurisdiction
- Provide evidence of having engaged in the lawful practice of law for at least 1000 hours per year in at least 36 of the 60 months immediately preceding the application
- Have a JD degree from ABA-approved law school, or if a practicing attorney, qualify under the non-ABA degree rule
- Provide required documents from each jurisdiction where you are licensed to practice law, as required by Rule 4D
- Be in good standing in each jurisdiction where you are licensed
- Receive a good character and fitness recommendation from the Minnesota Board of Law Examiners
- Receive an MPRE scaled score of 85 or higher or submit the score at a later date as per Rule 4E
- Meet all other Rule 4 General Requirements for Admission.
See Rule 7A and the Policy Statement on Admission without Examination, Eligibility by Practice (Rule 7A) for additional guidance.
Motion applicants who have already begun completing the paper version of the bar application prior to the Online Bar Application’s launch on June 3, 2022, will be permitted to submit a paper application until October 1, 2022. If you intend to submit your application after October 1, 2022, you must use the online application. No paper applications will be accepted after that date.
Click here to begin the application process.
Some documents require a PDF reader to view properly.